HDNA commemorates Yom HaShoah

HABONIM DROR NORTH AMERICA הבונים דרור בצפון אמריקה THE LABOR ZIONIST YOUTH MOVEMENTFrom Generation to Generation HDNA commemorates Yom HaShoah Shalom, Join Habonim Dror North America in commemorating Yom HaShoah (Holocaust Remembrance Day) with Holocaust survivor Maritza Shelley on Thursday, April 8th in a unique online event.


  • 4:30pm PDT / 7:30pm EDT - Presentation: Youth Movements and the Jews of Hungary during the Holocaust

  • 5:00pm PDT / 8:00pm EDT - Maritza Shelley's Testimony and Q&A

Participants are invited to both or either part of the event, please just indicate so on the registration form.

Maritza Shelley was born in 1928 in Budapest, Hungary. After the Nazi invasion of Hungary in 1944, she and her sister were selected to perform forced labor. When Maritza returned on a brief visit to her mother, who was living in the Jewish ghetto in Budapest, a roundup occurred and they were sent on a death march. They eventually reunited with Maritza’s sister, and all three women escaped the death march to the Mauthausen concentration camp, obtained false papers, and hitchhiked back to Budapest with a convoy of Nazis. Maritza moved to New York City in 1947 where she has lived ever since.

Registration is required. Please fill out the registration form and you will be emailed the zoom information - bit.ly/HDNAYomHaShoa

This commemoration is open to all current and past members of Habonim Dror North America as well as interested unaffiliated participants.

If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact HDNA's NYC shlicha, Carmi Tint at carmitint@gmail.com

Toda, Carmi


visit our website

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All